The speeding ticket from God

A couple of years ago I was rushing to work and made the split-second decision to keep going through a light when I knew very well that it was going to turn red. Moments later I was pulled over by an irate cop and on the receiving end of the full extent of his wrath along with a major ticket. As I waited for him to return to my car, I started to cry, not with frustration or self-pity but out of sheer relief that I hadn’t caused an accident. The irony of this story was that I was on my way to give a seminar about how to manage stress and avoid burnout. I felt so profoundly grateful that I had received a wake up call without hurting someone else in the process. It really seemed like an enormous blessing in disguise and ever since then I have referred to this occasion as the time I received a speeding ticket from God. My wish for you is that you don’t wait until something goes wrong or until your health begins to suffer to pay attention.

Watch for the symptoms

Excessive stress manifests physically and emotionally in a variety of ways.  Here is a list of some common ones. This list is just a starting point. Some of these may seem irrelevant or conversely, glaringly obvious. You might be able to come up with three of four more that I haven’t even mentioned right off the bat. You are the expert. The most important thing is that you start to become more conscious of how you are doing before you reach breaking point. Start to develop your own list of red flags and warning signs, so you can take evasive action and avoid burning out.

How to Avoid Burn Out  10 Symptoms of Severe Stress - 44